Where the Out-of-Print is Available Again
Now Buying
Now Buying

Glittering Stone #4 - Soldiers Live

Glittering Stone #4 - Soldiers Live
Category: Novels & Comics
Product Line: Black Company Novels
Author: Glen Cook
Publish Date: 2000
Pages: 496
Dimensions: 6x9x1.5"
Restockable: No
Type: Novel - Hardcover


When sorcerers and demigods go to war, those wars are fought by mercenaries, "dog soldiers, " grunts in the trenches. And the stories of those soldiers are the stories of Glen Cook's hugely popular Black Company novels. If the Joseph Heller of Catch-22 were to tell the story of The Lord of the Rings, it might read like the Black Company books. There is nothing else in fantasy like them.

Now, at last, Cook brings the "Glittering Stone" cycle within the Black Company series to an end...but an end with many other tales left to tell. As Soldiers Live opens, Croaker is military dictator of all the Taglias, and no Black Company member has died in battle for four years. Croaker figures it can't last. He's right.

For, of course, many of the Company's old adversaries are still around. Narayan Singh and his adopted daughter -- actually the offspring of Croaker and the Lady -- hope to bring about the apocalyptic Year of the Skulls. Other old enemies like Shadowcatcher, Longshadow, and Howler are also ready to do the Company harm. And much of the Company is still recovering from the fifteen years many of them spent in a stasis field.

Then a report arrives of an evil spirit, a forvalaka, that has taken over one of their old enemies. It attacks them at a shadowgate -- setting off a chain of events that will bring the Company to the edge of apocalypse and, as usual, several steps beyond.