Where the Out-of-Print is Available Again
Now Buying
Now Buying

Watchers Out of Time and Others, The

Watchers Out of Time and Others, The
Category: Novels & Comics
Sub Category: Novels
Author: H. P. Lovecraft, August Derleth
Publish Year: 1974
Pages: 406
Dimensions: 5.5x8x1.5"
Restockable: No
Type: Novel - Hardcover


The Watchers Out of Time and Others is a collection of stories by August Derleth inspired in part by notes left by H. P. Lovecraft after his death and presented as a "posthumous collaboration" between the two writers. (Derleth acted as Lovecraft's literary executor.) Some controversy exists among Lovecraft's admirers as to the ethics of presenting the stories as collaborative works. The book is an omnibus volume of Derleth's posthumous collaborations with Lovecraft. Several of the stories relate to the Cthulhu Mythos and had appeared previously in the earliest collections The Lurker at the Threshold, The Survivor and Others, The Shuttered Room and Other Pieces, The Dark Brotherhood and Other Pieces and other Arkham House publications.

The Watchers Out of Time and Others contains the following tales:

  • "Foreword", by April Derleth
  • "The Lurker at the Threshold"
  • "The Survivor"
  • "Wentworth's Day"
  • "The Peabody Heritage"
  • "The Gable Window"
  • "The Ancestor"
  • "The Shadow Out of Space"
  • "The Lamp of Alhazred"
  • "The Shuttered Room"
  • "The Fisherman of Falcon Point"
  • "Witches' Hollow"
  • "The Shadow in the Attic"
  • "The Dark Brotherhood"
  • "The Horror from the Middle Span"
  • "Innsmouth Clay"
  • "The Watchers Out of Time"